Tell The People I Love Them

There’s a little tune from the 70’s that is so simple, but powerful in its message.  I remember first hearing and singing it on a youth group retreat when I was about 15.  My friend Carol had invited me to attend her youth group with her and I began to hear about Jesus and His love for me.  After a few visits, I was invited on the retreat.  What I remember most about that weekend is the joy that the other young people in the group had.  I was not a happy teenager.  I didn’t have that joy and I knew I wanted what they had! Over time I began to find that joy sneaking into my heart and I realized it was because I was letting God into my life.  The more I learned about Him, the more the joy entered my heart.  I had come face to face with the loving Creator and I was never going to be the same. I was changing from the inside out because of God’s love.  So today, I’m telling you that God loves you.  Please, take Him at His word.  “God is not a man, that He should lie, Nor a son of man, that He should repent. Has He said, and will He not do? Or has He spoken, and will He not make it good?” (Numbers 23:19)

He who does not love does not know God, for God is love. (1 John 4:6)

There are only a few videos of this song on YouTube and this is the one that sounds most like I remember hearing it:  https://youtu.be/XAhZcnfrSNk

Please note:  I don’t know anything about this video or the people singing, I just found it through a search on YouTube.

img055

One thought on “Tell The People I Love Them

  1. I remember joining you, eventually, in the youth group. We focused on the book of John and God’s love for us. Thank you, Cindy for being the light in my life, several times throughout the decades, shining on the path that brings me closer to God!

    Like

Comments are closed.