Week 1 of The Way Through The Darkness

So glad to see you today!  To make it easier to follow along with this week’s study, I created a printable list.  So, not only is it colorful (fitting for the season), but it’s free!  Just click HERE to get it.  Then come on back and start the study.

 

Week 1: Feeding on Faithfulness

Brief Thought for the Week:  The suggested scripture readings for each day are listed below, but first just a few thoughts on this week’s topic.  

Taken literally, faithful means to be full of faith of course, but can God be full of faith? What would He be full of faith in? This by itself is a difficult concept for our limited human minds to comprehend, so let’s look at Webster’s definition. Webster’s defines faithful as being steadfast in affection or allegiance and includes in its list of synonyms: loyal, conscientious, binding, constant. This helps because we can more easily understand God as being affectionate, conscientious, and constant rather than full of faith. What examples of God’s faithfulness might help us with this concept? Psalm 89 is a wonderful example of God’s faithfulness; verses 33 and 34 say,

Nevertheless My lovingkindness I will not utterly take from him,Nor allow My faithfulness to fail.My covenant I will not break,Nor alter the word that has gone out of My lips.

Not only does this verse illustrate God’s faithfulness beautifully, but it establishes that His word can also be trusted! God’s word is binding and constant. Psalm 119:89 and 90 add to this:

Forever, O LORD,

Your word is settled in heaven.

Your faithfulness endures to all generations;

You established the earth, and it abides.

His faithfulness endures to your generation! Pause and think about that!

Blessed be the LORD, who has given rest to His people Israel, according to all that He promised. There has not failed one word of all His good promise, which He promised through His servant Moses. (1 Kings 8:56)

This moment, right now, would be a good time to pause again and feed on God’s love and faithfulness. It’s warm, sweet and filling.  Ultimately satisfying.  I truly hope you enjoy feeding this week on God’s faithfulness!

 

Day 1: God is Faithful

Reading: 1 Corinthians 10:13

No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it.

After reading each day’s scripture, I would like to suggest you ask yourself just two quick questions and contemplate your answers. Some people like to keep a journal so they can write these down and review later.  

Reflection:

What does today’s subtopic mean to me?  (Example: What does it mean to me to be faithful?

How does this verse from scripture help me? (Example: How does having an escape help me to face temptation?)

Next, you might want to use the prompts below to meditate on today’s verse for a few more moments.

Response:

What is my first thought in response to this?

What is God saying?

What action should I take?

I want to remember ____________________ .

My response to God ____________________ .

 

Day 2: Faithful to Forgive

Reading: 1 John 1:8-10

If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.

If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

If we say that we have not sinned, we make Him a liar, and His word is not in us.

Reflection:

What does today’s subtopic mean to me?  (Example: Describe how God has been faithful to you.)

How does this verse from scripture help me? (Example: What do I learn about my responsibility in receiving the forgiveness of God?)

Response:

What is my first thought in response to this?

What is God saying?

What action should I take?

I want to remember ____________________ .

My response to God ____________________ .

 

Day 3: Pillar and Cloud

Reading: Nehemiah 9:19

Yet in Your manifold mercies

You did not forsake them in the wilderness.

The pillar of the cloud did not depart from them by day,

To lead them on the road;

Nor the pillar of fire by night,

To show them light,

And the way they should go.

Reflection:

What does today’s subtopic mean to me?  (Example: How did God show His faithfulness in the wilderness?)

How does this verse from scripture help me? (Example: Does this scripture build my faith for God’s faithfulness in my own life?)

Response:

What is my first thought in response to this?

What is God saying?

What action should I take?

I want to remember ____________________ .

My response to God ____________________ .

 

Day 4: Shepherd Through Valley

Reading: Psalm 23:1-4

The LORD is my shepherd;

I shall not want.

He makes me to like down in green pastures;

He leads me beside the still waters.

He restores my soul;

He leads me in the paths of righteousness

For His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death

I will fear no evil;

For You are with me;

Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

Reflection:

What does today’s subtopic mean to me?  (Example: How did God show His faithfulness in the wilderness?)

How does this verse from scripture help me? (Example: Does this scripture build my faith for God’s faithfulness in my own life?)

Response:

What is my first thought in response to this?

What is God saying?

What action should I take?

I want to remember ____________________ .

My response to God ____________________ .

 

Day 5: Near to Broken Hearts

Readings: Psalm 34:18 Psalm 51:10-12, 17

Psalm 34:18

The LORD is near to those who have a broken heart,

And saves such as have a contrite spirit.

Psalm 51:10-13, 17

Create in me a clean heart, O God,

And renew a steadfast spirit within me.

Do not cast me away from Your presence,

And do not take Your Holy Spirit from me.

Restore to me the joy of Your salvation,

And uphold me with Your generous Spirit.

 

The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit,

A broken and contrite heart –

These, O God, You will not despise.

Reflection:

What does today’s subtopic mean to me?

How does this verse from scripture help me?

Response:

What is my first thought in response to this?

What is God saying?

What action should I take?

I want to remember ____________________ .

My response to God ____________________ .

 

Day 6: Orders Steps

Readings: Psalm 37:23-24 & Proverbs 3:5-6

Psalm 37:23-24

The steps of a good man are ordered by the LORD,

And He delights in his way.

Though he fall, he shall not be utterly cast down;

For the LORD upholds him with His hand.

Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust in the LORD with all your heart,

And lean not on your own understanding;

In all your ways acknowledge Him,

And He shall direct your paths.

Reflection:

What does today’s subtopic mean to me?

How does this verse from scripture help me?

Response:

What is my first thought in response to this?

What is God saying?

What action should I take?

I want to remember ____________________ .

My response to God ____________________ .

 

Day 7: Faithful to Stay

Reading: Hebrews 13:5-6

Let your conduct be without covetousness, and be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

So we boldly say:

The LORD is my helper;

I will not fear.

What can man do to me?”

Reflection:

What does today’s subtopic mean to me?

How does this verse from scripture help me?

Response:

What is my first thought in response to this?

What is God saying?

What action should I take?

I want to remember ____________________ .

My response to God ____________________ .

 

Next week’s topic is “Seeking the Light.”  See you soon!

If you liked this post, please share it on social media!  If you didn’t already get the free printable list just click HERE to get it.  🙂

 

New King James Version (NKJV) Scripture taken from the New King James Version®. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

“Faithful.” Merriam-Webster.com. Accessed April 9, 2017. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/faithful.

Leave a Reply

