Week 3 of The Way Through The Darkness

I hope you had wonderful week reflecting on Jesus’ death, burial, and resurrection! Because He died in our place – as a substitute for us – we can look forward to His appearing when He comes and meets us in the clouds.

Then we who are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air.  And thus we shall always be with the Lord.  1 Thess 4:17

If you’re just joining us, I strongly recommend you start with Week 1 HERE.  I included some helpful study hints in the Week 1 post that I haven’t repeated since then in order to keep these posts very short.  I know your time is valuable and I don’t want to take more than necessary so you have more time to sit at Jesus’ feet.  (You may click the link HERE to go to my series of posts on discovering what it means to sit at His feet.)

Just like the previous weeks, I’ve created a printable for this week’s study.  As always, it’s free!  This week I’m trying a different way of sharing the printables with you (Oh, there’s so much this grandma still has to learn).  Please click the link to be taken to a Google Drive document containing all the printables for the weeks so far.

 

The Way Through The Darkness Week 3

Week 3: Hoping in Trustworthiness

Brief Thought for the Week:  The suggested scripture readings for each day are listed below in the same format as the previous weeks, but first just a few thoughts on the topic for this week.  

We all need hope, don’t we!  Despair seems to be the absence of hope, but what should we hope for?  I have placed my hope in people and been disappointed.  And wounded.  How about you?  I have placed my hope in and gambled my happiness on a future event, only to have that event be canceled, ruined, or otherwise lacking. You too?  

Sheep place all their hope (they trust) in their shepherd for their safety and for green pastures and still, clear water.  In “A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23,” W. Phillip Keller, a man who has practical life experience as a shepherd, describes the relationship of immensely needy sheep to their incredibly hard-working shepherd:

Sheep do not “just take care of themselves” as some might suppose.  They require, more than any other class of livestock endless attention and meticulous care.

Based on our neediness as God’s sheep, we must know that the choice of our shepherd is critical to our care. God wouldn’t have assigned just anyone to the task, so it is comforting that Jesus himself says in John 10:14, 

“I am the good shepherd; and I know my sheep, and am known by My own.”

We know our shepherd and He is the Lord Jesus Christ!  And . . . He is worthy of our trust.  That gives me hope!

Previously we looked at God’s faithfulness and have seen that He understands our needs. That’s why the psalmist can say with absolute certainty in Psalm 23:4,

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil;
For You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

Notice that we walk through the valley and that we don’t walk alone.  No matter what circumstances have resulted in your dark valley, you can be assured that your Shepherd is walking through it with you.  Did you know that a shepherd’s rod is used to defend him and his sheep from attackers and the staff is used to guide the sheep in their way?  That explains why they comfort the psalmist!  God’s presence, protection, and guidance are ours as His sheep, especially when we walk through the dark valleys.  So we don’t have to stop in the middle of the valley.  We’ll just keep moving through it, within the protection and shelter of our Lord.  Yes, we can safely put our hope and trust in Him.  

I’d like to start you off this week with the following scripture.  I just love the way the psalmist cries out to God in Psalm 61:1-4:

Hear my cry, O God;
Attend to my prayer.
From the end of the earth I will cry to You,
When my heart is overwhelmed;
Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.

For You have been a shelter for me,
A strong tower from the enemy.
I will abide in Your tabernacle forever;
I will trust in the shelter of Your wings.

 

Day 1: Shield of Trust

Reading: Psalm 18:29-30

For by You I can run against a troop,
By my God I can leap over a wall.
As for God, His way is perfect;
The word of the Lord is proven;
He is a shield to all who trust in Him.

Reflection:

What does today’s subtopic mean to me?

How does this verse from scripture help me?

Response:

What is my first thought in response to this?

What is God saying?

What action should I take?

I want to remember ____________________ .

My response to God ____________________ .

 

Day 2: My Soul’s Refuge

Reading: Psalm 57:1

Be merciful to me, O God, be merciful to me! For my soul trusts in You; And in the shadow of Your wings I will make my refuge, Until these calamities have passed by.

Reflection:

What does today’s subtopic mean to me?

How does this verse from scripture help me?

Response:

What is my first thought in response to this?

What is God saying?

What action should I take?

I want to remember ____________________ .

My response to God ____________________ .

 

Day 3: Trust & Abide Forever

Reading: Psalm 125:1

Those who trust in the Lord
Are like Mount Zion,
Which cannot be moved, but abides forever.

Reflection:

What does today’s subtopic mean to me?

How does this verse from scripture help me?

Response:

What is my first thought in response to this?

What is God saying?

What action should I take?

I want to remember ____________________ .

My response to God ____________________ .

 

Day 4: Trust His Way

Reading: Psalm 143:8

Cause me to hear Your lovingkindness in the morning,
For in You do I trust;
Cause me to know the way in which I should walk,
For I lift up my soul to You.

Reflection:

What does today’s subtopic mean to me?

How does this verse from scripture help me?

Response:

What is my first thought in response to this?

What is God saying?

What action should I take?

I want to remember ____________________ .

My response to God ____________________ .

 

Day 5: Safe in God

Reading: Proverbs 29:25

The fear of man brings a snare,
But whoever trusts in the Lord shall be safe.

Reflection:

What does today’s subtopic mean to me?

How does this verse from scripture help me?

Response:

What is my first thought in response to this?

What is God saying?

What action should I take?

I want to remember ____________________ .

My response to God ____________________ .

 

Day 6: Nothing’s Too Hard

Reading: Jeremiah 32:27

“Behold, I am the Lord, the God of all flesh. Is there anything too hard for Me?

Reflection:

What does today’s subtopic mean to me?

How does this verse from scripture help me?

Response:

What is my first thought in response to this?

What is God saying?

What action should I take?

I want to remember ____________________ .

My response to God ____________________ .

 

Day 7: Draw Near & Trust

Reading: Psalm 73:25

Whom have I in heaven but You?
And there is none upon earth that I desire besides You.

Reflection:

What does today’s subtopic mean to me?

How does this verse from scripture help me?

Response:

What is my first thought in response to this?

What is God saying?

What action should I take?

I want to remember ____________________ .

My response to God ____________________ .

 

Next week’s topic is “Casting Cares.”  Can’t wait to have you stop by again!

~ Just keep shining, Cindyeliora

“I pray thatthe eyes of your understanding being enlightened; that you may know what is the hope of His calling, what are the riches of the glory of His inheritance in the saints, and what is the exceeding greatness of His power toward us who believe, according to the working of His mighty power”. (Ephesians 1:18-19)

 

New King James Version (NKJV) Scripture taken from the New King James Version®. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

 

